Chapter 6: Installation Day (Attempt #3)

November 6, 2009 at 8:03 pm Leave a comment

This time, I took a half day off work as the installation company was coming in the afternoon.  When I called to re-schedule, I reminded them to bring the right equipment for the job, and not to be late again as I was extremely unhappy with service thus far.  Apparently, this didn’t mean anything because guess what?  They showed up late again.  The sun was setting, and we were entering twilight.  I wasted yet another day not working to be there, and they messed it up again.  I was furious, but I needed to get the internet going because my wife was waiting to start her online courses, and I had real estate business I really needed the internet for. .  (Grudge #8- Arriving Late Again) 

When the installers arrived, I showed them where they could put the mounting pole and satellite dish.  The previous installers had already approved this location for the dish as well, so I knew it would be able to get good reception.  I then showed them where I wanted the cables to enter into the home.  It was very easy as there were already other cables for satellite television entering into the same location in the attic, and it was easily accessible from inside.  I was very specific and clear about these directions, because a hole in your siding is a pretty ugly thing, and if cables are running out that hole it can look really bad!  The location I requested would have been out of the way and hardly noticeable from the outside.

I let them do their thing, and finished eating dinner.  When I returned to check up on the progress I noticed that mud had been dragged throughout the house!  It went from the front door up two sets of stairs, into the attic, and to my computer desk across marble floors and carpeting!  WET MUD DRAGGED TRHOUGHOUT THE HOME.  It wasn’t just a little bit either, but enough to fill up a big dust pan full.  I know this, because I filled up a dust pan full of mud after they left and that’s not counting what was vacuumed up.  .  (Grudge #9- Not Respecting the Home.  Take Off Your Boots!)

I then went outside to see if they had drilled the hole yet.  They had indeed drilled the hole in the wrong location!  I was furious, but held my cool.  I confronted the gentlemen about why he had not drilled in the location I requested.  He said he didn’t know where it would enter into the house, and wanted to make sure he drilled it into the attic.  This didn’t make sense, because all he had to do was go into the attic and drill out next to the other cables. .  (Grudge #10- Failure to Comply with Simple Requests) 

 It was getting really late, so I didn’t want to argue.  They had problems adjusting the dish properly so it could get a good signal, and then they had problems enabling the internet to my computer.  It took them several hours before everything was finally working.  They were at my home until close to 11 pm.  We all had to work in the morning, and were obviously not pleased.  It was a very uncomfortable situation.  I complained about the entire experience later, and even asked for a credit back or free pole.  My request was denied.   (Grudge #11- Poor Time Management, Customer Relations.) 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Chapter 5: Installation Day (AGAIN!) Chapter 7: Welcome to HughesNet

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed